Skip to content

Making Love My Aim

October 26, 2010

Really, I should be sleeping right now, but I’m still digesting another late dinner as I took in last week’s episode of “The Biggest Loser”.  It’s an inspiring series and it definitely points out that while losing weight and being physically healthy is incredibly important, so is a healthy mind and attitude.

It makes me think about my own journey and just how far I’ve come.  I know that the obstacles I have survived laid the ground work for the atmosphere I’m beginning to thrive in.  It is definitely a combination of the spiritual healing I’ve received along with the emotional, mental & physical healing.  One part definitely affects the other and when one part suffers, all the rest suffer along with it.  Talk about a literal expression of 1 Corinthians 12 within my own being.

In all things on all levels of my world, I am making love my aim: Love for God, love for my family, my friends, my community and especially now, love for myself.  I used to believe that taking care of myself was a selfish and self-centered thing to do.  After a few run ins with visiting the edge of sanity/insanity, I realize that you cannot give what is not yours.  I could love with everything I had, but I realized that I had worse than “nothing,” I had a truly warped sense of my own being and I was sabotaging my own ability to serve others.  It’s been a hard road learning how to love myself and even more difficult to throw the switch from the old tapes running through my head to the new ones.

If there is any reason why I can receive love now, it is a total grace of the Holy Spirit along with the perseverance and prayers of those who have LOVED me into life.  I cannot begin to express just how amazing these folks are and truly each of you are gifts of God to me.  If I never thanked you before, please accept this is my humble token of gratitude and know that you are LOVED!

So with that in mind, I’m going to say my prayers of thanksgiving and sleep for a short but blessed time.  I get to hang out with some awesome folks later on this morning and I look forward to serving them with love.  Count your blessings and make sure you tell the important people in your life how much you love them…that includes YOURSELF.  Peace.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

