Skip to content

Topic #17: Does Everything Happen for a Reason?

January 16, 2011

Topic #17

Here’s today’s topic idea:

Do you believe everything happens for a reason? Why or why not?

I actually got excited when I read today’s topic.  I honestly believe that everything happens for a reason. 

I know I don’t have the corner market in understanding the whys of the world or the rhyme or reason.  I just know that if tragedies never happened, we would never be given reasons to extend ourselves to others.  Take for instance, the existence of the poor.  In this day in age, we really should not have any excuses for allowing poverty to exist.  Yet, with all the technology available to us, all of the resources and all of the man power to change things, the poor are still with us. 

There are probably a hundred and one reasons why poverty still exists, reasons that go beyond my limited scope and vision.  But I know that without the poor, I would not be reminded how fragile life is.  The poor remind me that I live in a place that is rich beyond comparison.  They also inspire me to think outside of my comfortable circumstances and be conscious of the decisions that I make.  Perhaps I could find ways to live within my means and put forth my time, resources and energy to help someone in need. 

There is a reason why I’m still single, even though my heart knows I’m made for the vocation of marriage.  I do not always see it or understand why, but I know that this season of my life is precious and one that will never be mine again when my husband pursues me and we raise our family.  In this season of singlehood, I’m not standing by idly waiting for Prince Charming to come along.  I don’t need a relationship to be fulfilled as a person, but I AM looking forward to sharing my life with a man I can stand side by side with.  In this chapter of my book, I’m realizing just how BLESSED I am and how I can use my gifts and talents to make this world a better place. 

Living my life on purpose has been the latest mantra in my mind, keeping my eyes open as well as my heart.  I don’t want to miss the miracles that happen around me so I’m making sure that I smile at every person I meet, extend a hand to those in need and embrace the people I love.  Life is a garden, and I dig it.  😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

