Skip to content

Topic #23: Can you handle the truth?

January 22, 2011

Topic #23

Here’s today’s topic, brought to you by Plinky.com:

Is it always better to know the truth, even when it hurts? Or is ignorance bliss? Or are they both true some of the time?

Bonus twist: how does your opinion on truth jive with your opinion of wikileaks?

Photo double twist: Take a picture of a thing that expresses a truth.

The funny thing about this post is, I DID have a moment of truth come up tonight before I could write on the subject.  I had an initial thought about how I would handle truth and I suspected how I would react.  I’m pleased to say I handled it well.

The truth is something I would much rather hear, no matter how brutal it may be…I’ve been lied to and left to assess what’s really going on and I don’t care to “fill in the blanks” or assume anything…because you know what happens when you assume.  I may not handle the truth with a lot of grace at the first hearing, but I am much better about listening and waiting and praying through the emotions now than I’d ever been before.  It’s how I handle my next move that takes time, patience and grace.

As for the wikileaks site: that is interesting.  I’d never heard of it before this topic.  I suppose that things are not always meant to be hidden, especially where other human souls are concerned.  The truth can be hard to swallow because perhaps we justify in our minds that it’s okay to take away the rights of others because they are “different” from us.  That seems to be an ongoing challenge…one that has existed for centuries…one group of people trying to overtake the others…for whatever reason or another…justifying the mistreatment of others.  It makes me rather sad and my heart hurts over things like that.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. yvette de la garza permalink
    January 22, 2011 10:12 am

    I think when it comes to the truth, you have to consider the intentions behind, and repercussions of being brutally honest. Does what will be gained so far out-weigh the cost? Are your intentions without any selfish motives? I wouldn’t want to hurt someone’s feelings just to be honest about something that in the long-run doesn’t really matter much. There are definitely times when we have to know exactly where we stand, no matter how painful. But I think sometimes a little softer version of the truth can go a long way. Just a thought. If you think I’m totally off-base, feel free to let me know. I can take it! 😉

    • January 23, 2011 12:00 am

      Absolutely, Yvette. To be the type of person who speaks truth all the time without a filter can get him/herself into some serious social troubles. Each situation is as unique as the souls who are involved in the circumstances. Prudence is a definite virtue to have in tow when it comes to being honest…

      I think that there is also a fine line between delivering the truth in a manner that “soft” versus “sugar coating”. If one is in a situation where the truth is shared in order for the recipient to grow in their craft, then I believe it’s warranted. If it’s a situation where the truth needs to be said amongst friends, perhaps there should be some more thought put into how the news is delivered. You cannot control how another person receives the truth…all you can do is prepare for his/her reaction and allow for that person to process the news.

Leave a Reply

