Skip to content

Youth Ministry is NOT just for Youth…

January 25, 2011

As a youth participating in youth ministry programs, I found a second home at my parish.  School, home & St. Catherine’s were the places you’d find me hanging out as a high school student.  What I did not fully appreciate back then, but had a dim idea of, was the fact that the St. Catherine’s also helped my mother out a lot.

Being a single parent is not an easy gig and raising kids to be solid in their faith is just another dimension to the challenges of parenthood.

On this side of the YM spectrum, as a Coordinator, I can totally see that Youth Ministry is NOT just for the teens who pass through these halls.  The parents, sponsors and members of this community are all connected.  I am humbled by the fact that I’ve been given the grace to be a CYM…for in my heart of hearts it’s where I want to be.  Helping youth find Jesus in their everyday lives is an awesome and humbling task, one that takes a lot of prayer and perseverance.

I have grown a lot in this role and have come to embrace the highs and lows of being in this part of the vineyard.  When the lows come, I praise Him & ask for help (now, more than ever) and when the highs arrive, I remember to praise God for these, too.  I never thought that I would have the opportunity to do what I fell in love with as a teenager.  This has been the most amazing part of my journey so far…I can’t wait to see what else He’s got in store for me.

Jeremiah 29:11-14

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

