Skip to content

If I don’t make plans to make this work…it finds a way of finding me…

January 27, 2011

Yesterday, I had lunch with a friend I’ve known a long time (since elementary school) and I shared with her my journey to the spot where I’m at now.  The thing that popped up was the fact that I ran away from music by working for an auto insurance company as a claims examiner for about a year and a half.  I won’t tell you which one, but I will tell you that my work in claims was a very concerted effort to run away from music.

Yup.  I admit that.  I tried to run away from being a musician.

Forget the fact that I spent the previous 4 years earning my Bachelor of Music in Commercial Music in Vocal Performance or that I’d been singing since I was 2.  I was literally SCARED of going out into the music world after so many years of training.

Back to my friend with whom I was having lunch.  She said something to the effect of “music is what you do.  It’s in your blood.”   Last Saturday, I was at a wonderfully intimate dinner party with a high school friend, Alex, and her merry guests.  She had a guitar & a piano in the family room.  They were gracious enough to listen to some of my own work & had asked me why I had not recorded yet.  I had a bit of a confession with them regarding that & they were encouraging me to go further.  Alex posted up videos of me playing that night on my FB and sent me a message encouraging me to try Kickstarter.  Kickstarter is a website that helps artists gain funding from their fan base in order to finish recording projects, or whatever they need help fund raising for.  As much as the prospect of diving into music scares me, it gives me such a thrill it’s like an adrenaline rush.

I’m not sure where my path will take me.  I’ve never fully pursued anything except a solid life with the Lord and as long as He’s my center, I’m finding that he leads me to the things that make my heart soar.  I think that is the reason why I have come back to San Diego, why I’m a part of an amazing crew of BICs & SICs, why I’ve come to dance and definitely the reason why I sing.  As I write these things, I’m coming to the realization that I am where I am supposed to be and this is the exciting cross roads I’m meant to be in.   Thank God for the people encouraging me to go with this…for those who have been encouraging me for years.  Thanks for not giving up on me.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

