Skip to content

Topic #33: Jobs

February 16, 2011

Topic #33

Here’s today’s topic, brought to you by Plinky.com:

If you could have any job in the world, what would it be?

Bonus: What is the worst job you’ve ever had? What did you learn from it?

If I could have any job in the world…this is going to sound pretty archaic…I’d like to be a wife and mom.  For those of you who are already in this position, I have heard from some of you, “Don’t do it!!!  Embrace your single life!!!”  I get you.  I do.  I’m enjoying the life I have now and it’s very good, but I have never had the “job” of being a wife or a mother.

I’ve had my moments as a “spiritual mother” to other people…my heart would hurt in solidarity with those who are hurting, I’d be praying for many of the students I’ve been blessed to teach.  I’ve had my stint as a “wife” in college to a guy that I loved with every ounce of my being at that time…but obviously that was not meant to be (he’s happily married to someone else right now).

Wives & mothers are the heart of the family.  Their work pays very little, is a 24 hour gig and there are few perks in it…but the ways they bring LIFE to those in their family is PRICELESS.  I think of my own family and the price my own mom has paid so I may learn everything I can to stand on my own two feet.  What of the price that her mother paid, and great-grandma and so on?  There is a part of me that just wants to give everything I have for the sake of my loved ones, so they may know how much they are loved and just how AWESOME they are.

The good news is, I’m practicing for these roles in the little things I do…in the ways I get to build other people up, in the ways I serve my family & friends.  Until the right time comes, I’ll be waiting to join the many millions of other wives & mothers who have helped to raise some amazing human beings.

The worst job I ever had: I worked for a pet store for a week…the kind with kennels of puppies left over night from 9 p.m. to 5 a.m.  I felt so bad for each of them being stuck in such circumstances and it definitely made me sick to my stomach.  They let me go after a week, but I didn’t mind.  The one thing I learned from a place like that is: they don’t have a first aid kit around when a hamster bites you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Veronica permalink
    February 16, 2011 11:11 am

    You got one thing wrong though: there are so many perks to being a wife and mother. a million billion every day.

  2. February 16, 2011 11:18 am

    🙂

    I’m so glad that you say that, Veronica! Someday, I’ll have the opportunity to see the same sorts of things. Praise God for good mamas!

Leave a Reply

