Skip to content

Topic #39: Believing through experience

February 17, 2011

Topic #39

Here’s today’s topic, brought to you by Plinky.com:

What’s something you never believed until you experienced it?

Bonus: What is something you believed in, until an experience changed your mind?

I never truly believed that I am worthy of love until I finally experienced me loving myself as I am.  Does that make sense?  The whole, “you can’t love anyone else until you love yourself” piece of advice is TRUE.  There’s this funny paradox that happens when it comes to love.  As much as I’ve wanted love from other people in my life, I realize now that I could only allow them to love me as much as I loved & respected myself.

I’m ashamed to say that I had to learn how to love myself…and that it took so long to get there, but I can tell you this much: it was worth the wait.  The pain of healing, the hard lessons of facing the GOOD (which was surprisingly harder than accepting the bad) and the gift of time all helped me to learn how to love the person I am.  It’s so awesome to finally see the goodness of who I am through my own eyes.  I know it’s not the way others see me, but those folks have seen something in me that I never saw until recently.  Thank God for those souls!

Coming from a place of a complete brokenness that I believed I deserved, this experience of loving myself changed the way I see my past.  I’ve been forgiven by a God who loves me, I’ve been accepted by some pretty awesome people and I’m finally forgiving myself.  There’s the major change that’s happened in my life.  Now the next level will be me allowing myself to embrace my gifts and sharing them with others.  🙂

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

