Skip to content

Topic #76: Muse

April 2, 2011

Topic #76:

How do you find your muse?

When you sit down to blog, or have a creative project of any kind you need to work on, how do you get yourself motivated to do it? What are your rituals or habits?

I find my muse in the most common place or unlikely places.  Since I write a lot of music, I tend to be inspired visually: by things I read or see.  I enjoy good dancing and beautiful pieces of art.  I like listening to people express themselves and observe the world around them.  Life generally inspires me to to write things down and develop my work.  Conversations with others definitely trigger some of the best music I’ve written to date.  When I get in a rut, other people do help in unintentional ways by sharing their experiences with me.

I like to warn folks, “anything you say can and will be used in a song”…because it’s true!  Other people inspire me to take musical “snapshots” commemorating incredible moments in their lives.  My prayer life also tends to inspire me to write, but it is something that I know I need to guard & be faithful to putting in the time to pray.  My prayer life tends to be one that is constant, in regards to praying everyday; but the methods vary depending upon how I’m called to pray from the moment I wake up to when I go to sleep.  Daily Mass, the Rosary, taking a walk, breathing, small sacrifices, reading scripture…these things help me with my spiritual life and can truly spark up some inspiration to write music or stories or journal.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 8:22 am

    I find inspiration in everything i see hear or feel. We’re pretty the same. Great post.

Leave a Reply

