Skip to content

Topic #74: Imagination

April 3, 2011

Topic #74:

Read through first – then do.

Close your eyes. Count to ten. Then imagine a beautiful ancient castle (tastefully remodeled to include central heating, kick-ass wi-fi and WordPress.com ready laptops everywhere). Now walk down the endless main hall, a hall filled with amazing rooms of wonder. Go into the 2nd room on the right. What’s inside?

The ornately carved wooden doors are heavy as I test its weight by my right hands.  Pressing onward, the doors swing open slowly.  The light comes from the beautiful stained glass ceiling well above my head.  The hardwood floors are shiny and smooth.  The only piece of furniture in the room is a baby grand piano in the corner.  The room is rather large, stretching out further down the hall.  The doors must all open to this grand ballroom.

Sitting at the piano is a man, his head down as he plays a lilting ballad.  He doesn’t notice me as I walk softly into the room.  I close my eyes and let the music move me to dance on the smooth floor.  I suddenly am able to move in ways I have never known before, graceful in ways I have never been.  The music begins to pick up tempo and the tune changes into a more lively jig.  I can feel the sun beaming down on my skin and radiating through my hair.  Next thing I know, I feel the hands of a dance partner taking up my right hand & encircling my waist, then I’m flying.  I don’t open my eyes but lose myself in the sensation of being led well.  The music is still playing, inspiring my lead to whirl me around.  I never miss a step or lose my focus.  It’s almost as if I’d danced with this stranger all my life…it felt like home.

I open my eyes and cannot see my partner.  The sunlight is so bright it’s impossible to tell this man’s features.  The familiarity is comforting and intriguing all at the same time.  The scent of him is intoxicating as we move all over the floor.  I can tell he’s smiling at me and I can’t help but smile in return.  A screech of laughter escapes my lips and we whirl around even faster than before.  My heart is pounding against my ribcage and threatening to break out.  Is it due to the dance or the dance partner?  I close my eyes and relish in the various emotions and sounds all around me.  Before the music ends, I find myself drifting out of this dream.  I want to open my eyes, but they refuse to open.  The light around me fades, the heat leaves my skin and hair…in the background I hear the sound of a song too modern for the scene I was just in…I open my eyes.

The familiar ceiling of my room above my head is all that I see, but my heart is still racing like I’d just been dancing….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

