Skip to content

Topic #87: Concert of a lifetime

April 5, 2011

Topic #87:

Imagine you get a magic gold ticket that lets you travel through space and time to grab any band, or music act, living or dead, together or broken up, and transport them to play live at a venue near you. Who would you pick? Why?

This topic is TORTUROUS!!!!  Do you know how painful this is for a music major?  Seeing as I love SO many different styles and genres of music, this is a really BIG challenge for me.

I’d love to do a chronological tour of musicians dating back to the days of Mozart & Beethoven along with Dvorak & J.S. Bach, not to mention my namesake: Johann Strauss, Jr.  If I could travel from them to Aaron Copland & John Williams (who is still alive…), I’d enjoy that.

Leaving that general area of music, I’d go into early jazz with Count Basie, Louis Armstrong, Ella Fitzgerald, Duke Ellington and have a BLAST with that era, not only for the music, but for the DANCING.  Traveling onward, I’d love to hear Chet Baker and Sarah Vaughan.

Moving a little bit more contemporary, I’d love to hear the Beatles, Led Zepplin, Elvis (in his early days).  U2 is still on my list of bands to see before I die.  Coldplay is another.

Getting all of THAT out of my system…the people I’d love to see all together for one heck of a concert:  Itzhak Perlman on violin, Yo yo Ma on cello, Bobby McFerrin on vocals/percussion, Sarah Vaughan on vocals, Cyrus Chestnut on piano, Charles Mingus on bass, Miles Davis on trumpet along with Ron Miles on flugelhorn, Bela Fleck on banjo and Rudy Royston on drums.  Some of these guys are alive, some are not.  To hear them all together in one place would be phenomenal.

My reasons for hearing these people play together: they each are amazing musicians who have the ability to truly transport their audience to another place.  I’ve heard these folks (some of them live) and they each have touched my life in ways that are indescribable.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

