Skip to content

Topic #88: Best Gift EVER

April 7, 2011

Topic #88:

What is the best gift you’ve ever received?

Bonus: what is the worst gift you’ve ever received? (Think re-gifting)

I have received some pretty awesome gifts throughout my lifetime, but they’re not all what would seen as “typical” or “conventional”.  I suppose that it has a lot to do with my way of seeing the world.  The best gifts I have ever received were given to me at a time when I needed them the most.

A hug from a loving family member or friend, a text message giving me encouragement or a praise report, a nerf gun from a youth leader…a bunch of suction darts to go with it a week later.  Some gifts are extravagant: like my mom & sister flying out to Denver for my 21st birthday/junior vocal recital.  Others are very simple: drawings from my nieces or music students.

I think that the best gift I have EVER received (now that I think of it) is the gift of seeing myself through God’s eyes.  I spent a long time not believing in myself & believing the lies I’d learned while growing up…like I’m not beautiful enough or skinny enough to be a pop star…to not being good enough for a man to love me…these things all plagued me and haunted me up until a few years ago.  The one gift that cannot be bought or sold: the gift of time.  Combine this with the gift of grace and there is the joy-filled discovery of acceptance of the good and the bad and the grace to live with it.  I cannot and will not change anything about my past for I know that these experiences and circumstances have all helped to make me who I am today.

The best gift I EVER received is the gift of being able to love me for me.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

