Skip to content

Staying off the Grid

May 13, 2011

Last Friday was a monumental day for me: I had had enough.

I committed social network suicide & left Facebook. 

Without warning.

Without asking for other people’s opinions.

I just did it.

It’s been a rough 2011 on an interior level.  While the outside stuff has been SUPER awesome: 

 1.) The start of a musical career on another level

2.)  the ministries flourishing & growing

3.) the completion of classes for my national certification in YM

4.) family, community & all doing well….

So WHY with the need to jump off the grid?

Interiorly, I found myself in self-destruct mode.  Not in the sense of the dramatic episodes of my past.  Subtle, quiet, sneaky…until it all reared up its ugly head last week.  I found myself losing a lot of time on FB under the guise of work, of keeping in touch with family & friends far far away…but I also found myself comparing my own endeavors against other people’s lives…people I love and respect…people I call my closest family & friends.  I was feeding an insatiable monster of unrest and I could not understand why I was having a difficult time with taking care of my own needs.

When FB is the first thing I would check in the morning to “wake up” and the last thing I’d see before I close my eyes to sleep, I realized I have a massive problem.  It wasn’t going to go away overnight, so I took myself off for a while.  I’m not sure how long this will last, but for now, I’m not worried. 

Ok, so it’s making social engagements a bit more challenging to arrange.  I’m realizing I need to make other ways of socializing happen…not by way of cyber space, but FACE to FACE time.  I SO miss having that.  Time well spent with family, friends & community can be helped along by social networking, but in truth, nothing beats the real thing.  I need the Face to Face time more than anything else…and I needed to regain my prayer life: first thing in the morning & the last thing before I close my eyes. 

I’m using this time to really re-focus my priorities & also to remind myself of who I really am.  So, if anyone needs to get a hold of me, guess you’ll have to try the old ways of communicating: phone calls are especially welcomed!  😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2011 1:44 pm

    I would have posted this on your wall today if you were still on Facebook:

    http://endofthemodernworld.blogspot.com/2011/05/catholic-roots-of-jazz.html

    • May 13, 2011 4:46 pm

      AWESOME! I knew about Dave Bruebek. Apparently Vince Guaraldi (composer of Peanuts classic: “Linus & Lucy”) is Catholic…I heard his Mass settings a few year’s back. When his father passed away fall of 2010, the funeral was held at the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception in Denver, CO. 🙂

      Vocal improv can also be likened to “singing in tongues”. 🙂 Jazz is a GOOD thing!

Leave a Reply

