Skip to content

Well needed breaks…

October 3, 2011

Ok, so I finally looked at my drafts and found this little blog hanging out.  I know it’s late, but better late than never.  Enjoy!

I took Holy Week off of blogging so I could just plug into the highlight of the liturgical calendar and just see what I could see.  Honestly, it’s been a most joyous Lenten season for me this year and that in itself was unusual.

Between the musical adventures and the self-discoveries to the ebb and flow of ministry, family life & community, all has been more than well in my neck of the woods.  No complaints, really.  This Lent was about staying present to the circumstances around me, the conversations I was having and being intentional with the time I have.  Life is so incredibly good and I have so much to share.  I’ve been able to see things with a new lens and I count everyday as a blessing.  Even the tough stuff has a ray of sunlight peeping over the edge of the clouds.

Now, please don’t mistake me for being a Polyanna of sorts.  I’m not stuck in an optimism bubble.  I am merely looking at the upside of every trial that I have come up against.  Considering the life I used to have growing up, I should not be so blessed with this mentality or with the hopes I’ve dared to entertain.  I think that it has a lot to do with being able to really love the life I have and appreciate every bit of it while I have it.

The Triduum (Holy Thursday, Good Friday, Holy Saturday) into Easter Sunday was packed with running around from place to place for various events.  I got surprised by a dear SIC of mine coming in from WA to celebrate her birthday.  She’s a treasure.  We didn’t get ANY sleep on her birthday, but it was worth every minute!  One thing I know for sure, this beautiful community knows how to PRAISE the LORD with every ounce of energy.  I thought the roof of our home would blast off with the amount of praise coming out of our mouths and out of our instruments.  🙂

The hours rolled by without much thought and the prayers overflowed into the throne room of our Lord.  It didn’t stop there.  There was something so profound about this experience of Easter.  My family’s lunch was pleasant and joy-filled and the continued celebration at another SIC’s house was WONDERFUL.  The fatigue of running on a few hours of sleep faded in favor for the LIFE that was being shared among us all.  I managed to break 3 guitar strings on 3 different guitars (including my own!), but it didn’t stop us from singing.  I drove home in a content state of mind, in spite of the fact that I missed my exit.  😦

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

