Skip to content

Lessons of Taking Sabbath Momements

October 11, 2011

I consider myself to be a “pretty good” soul (all ego set aside 😉 ), but there is definitely one particular commandment that I CHRONICALLY continue to break.

Of the 10 Commandments, the one I continually defy is number 3: Keep Holy the Sabbath

Scripturally, we are called to do this.  See the following passage from Exodus 20:8-11

Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy.
Six days you shall labor, and do all your work;
but the seventh day is a sabbath to the LORD your God;
in it you shall not do any work, you, or your son,
or your daughter, your manservant,
or your maidservant or your cattle,
or the sojourner who is within your gates;
for in six days the LORD made heaven and earth,
the sea, and all that is in them,
and rested the seventh day;
therefore the Lord blessed the sabbath day and hallowed it.

And another passage from Deuteronomy 5:12-15

Observe the sabbath day—keep it holy, as the LORD, your God, commanded you.Six days you may labor and do all your work,but the seventh day is a sabbath of the LORD your God. You shall not do any work, either you, your son or your daughter, your male or female slave, your ox or donkey or any work animal, or the resident alien within your gates, so that your male and female slave may rest as you do.Remember that you too were once slaves in the land of Egypt, and the LORD, your God, brought you out from there with a strong hand and outstretched arm. That is why the LORD, your God, has commanded you to observe the sabbath day.

Ok, this means taking one day out of the week to “do nothing” and relax.  But, what does it mean to take a “Sabbath” rest?

 It’s something I have been struggling with as an adult for quite some time now and I see that it is not a commandment to take lightly.  I have experienced the trouble of not taking time out to rest or relax, firsthand, and I realize that this is something that not only has spiritual implications, but physical, emotional and financial influence, as well.

Spiritually, taking time out to commune with the Lord by way of silence, prayer or praise helps me get realigned.  I do pray on a regular basis, but the quality of those prayers are less as of late.  Kind of like wasting your time with small talk with someone you love when there are really important topics that need to be discussed.  Honesty in prayer, but also humility in staying silent and allowing the Lord to speak is the part I struggle with the most.

 The physical aspect of taking up rest–sleeping in or taking a nap in between: who wouldn’t want to do that?!  Sleep is one of my most treasured aspects of life and one that I do not appear to be getting enough of.  This was changed dramatically when I “upgraded” to a simple talk & text plan.  Now my cell phone does not go off with every update from Facebook, a new Tweet on Twitter, or e-mail pouring in at all hours of the day and night.  Ahhhh….blessed SLEEP!  It’s the BEST decision I’ve made on the road to financial recovery…not to mention CHEAPER than keeping up with a data plan.

Emotionally, the break is good to process how the week has gone or even to check in with myself and see what is going well…what needs to change…what needs to be reinforced.  I like to journal to help me with my emotions that seem to pipe up at some of the most inopportune times.   The important part is taking the time to step back and realize that emotions come and go and they are NOT the best resource for making decisions.

The financial implications come much like the manner of dealing with credit cards: run your body into the ground from constant engagements mentally, emotionally, spiritually & physically…then your body pays for it later when it crashes and burns by way of poor health, which can cost a pretty penny or two or several.  For those who do not have health insurance, this is positively FRIGHTENING.

So back to the 3rd commandment…with all of these reasons to support taking the 7th day off for a Sabbath rest, it is a wonder that I struggle with this STILL.  I think that it boils down to the fact that taking a Sabbath rest is a conscious CHOICE to be made and to PREPARE for.  Like all good things, it takes effort and planning as well as the investment of time and energy to reap the benefits of such a hidden treasure.  I was reminded of this important fact as I

took time out this morning to pray after finding myself so frustrated with my current mental state of unrest.  I have not taken time to just “be”.  So word to the wise, we are each called a human being not a human doing.  Time to “be” just that.  🙂  Here’s to your good health & the implementation of your own “Sabbath” moments.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 5:40 am

    Just beautifully said here, VJ! Check put my last few posts, specifically today 🙂 we are kinda parallel. Thank you for posting this, we all need to hear this message.

Leave a Reply

