Skip to content

Advent 2012

November 29, 2012

Before Thanksgiving even came about, Christmas sales and ads and music were sneaking up. Invitations to Christmas dinners popped up and decorations started sparkling like neon signs in Vegas. I found myself dreading the whole ordeal and have even been thinking of excuses to shy away from ugly sweater parties with egg nog. I have been hungry for something that I can’t put my finger on. Black Friday came and I avoided going out shopping except for the necessities of my household. As I dodged sales and avoided the Christmas displays, I realized I don’t need anything. The craziness of the season has made me ill and I realized my family does not need anything. With a sigh of relief, I decided I’m making gifts this year. Most likely edible ones. 😉

But I digress. 

Ok, so I don’t need anything materially. Got a roof over my head, clothes on my body and food in my stomach (perhaps too much!). My biggest problem is that I find things that get in the way of my relationship with God and pile them high: my own self-importance, my pride, my ridiculous wants versus my life-giving needs. I’m sick of it. I’m sick of the instant gratification that comes with pushing a button instead of getting up and exercising my under-appreciated ability to physically move. In my struggles the last couple of weeks, I realized what is missing. This beautiful season of Advent happens for a reason. Conversations with my friend Sir DB and with others have helped me to struggle with Advent. I heard my pastor clarify the difference between Lent and Advent.  

Lent is a time of sacrifice in preparation for Easter. 

Advent is a time of making room for the Lord.

I went out and got my very own Advent wreath and picked up Matthew Kelly’s “Rediscovering Advent.” I’m going to be celebrating every day this Advent by making room for the Lord: in word, in thought and in deed. Looking around in my very cluttered bedroom, I realize that perhaps now is the time to PHYSICALLY go through my stuff and pass on the things that I don’t need. I want to reclaim the season of Advent and do so with the spirit this is intended to be: a chance to make room for Him to take residence in my little heart and in my humble home. 

ImageOne thing I will do is CELEBRATE Christmas every day from December 25 to January 6. And that will be one SWEET Christmas season. I can already tell. 🙂

In the meantime, HAPPY ADVENT. May you each make room for our Lord in this beautiful season. Holy Spirit, come!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

