Skip to content

It begins…

February 12, 2013

I love the Lenten season. It brings me back to a time of intentional prayer, fasting and almsgiving that helps me build my relationship with the Lord. This year, it will be about being WITH people these next 40 days and not distracted by what’s on the ‘net. I get to be more creative and to listen more. I get to spend time with living souls in person.

So no t.v., movies, or internet social networking. More time to cook my own meals, have actual conversations with people, create things with my hands and write again: blogging and songwriting. A chance to physically exercise and offer it up. It looks pretty bleak on the outside, but I have this strong feeling that it will help me embrace my humanity again.

So, here’s to the folks who are attempting new ways to be human (name that band!) and reach out to each other in the real world. If we’re not in the same time zone or city, I’ll see you in the Eucharist.

in Him,

V.J. Brion

On a sidebar: one of my last posts on my music FB page:

giving up tv and movies during Lent in order to be able to write more. But I need a T.A.R.D.I.S., a Sonic Screwdriver and a Doctor FIRST!”

It would figure that I’d have a Dr. Who marathon about a week before Lent begins and I’M HOOKED! The last episode I finished-Season 3, Episode 11 “Blink”. I think I’ll never look at angel statues the same. Ever.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 15, 2013 10:05 pm

    Switchfoot!! =D

Leave a Reply

