Skip to content

Say Something

February 26, 2014

This song really spoke to my heart when I first heard it on the radio. On first round, it seems like an emo-laden ballad, but then my friend, Mark, gave me a different perspective:

What if this is what the Disciples of Jesus sang this after His Crucifixion just before he rose from the dead? It sparked my imagination a bit.

There have been times in my life that I got so lost in where I was that I have begged God to send me a sign. Anything to show me that I’m not alone. In my most desperate moments of my life, I know I’ve prayed like this. Jesus, in his humanity, might have had a moment like this, too. For whatever reason or another, I think of the Garden of Gethsemane when he begged his Father to let the cup pass him by, but surrendered to his Father’s Will and not his own. Accepting Christ’s humanity is tough for me, but I cannot deny it. I experienced it in the Holy Land at St. Peter Gallicantu. I wept in the prison where he was held because I felt his humanity for the first time in my life. It broke my complacent heart open to the reality of his sacrifice for each of us.

This is Mark and I singing A Great Big World’s “Say Something (I’m Giving Up on You)” feat. Christina Aguilera. May the Holy Spirit flood your heart with the love of the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna May permalink
    February 27, 2014 2:19 pm

    VJ,
    You have no idea how much I needed this today. I had never thought of this song in that way – and it is exactly where my heart is right now. I am listening to this song in a new way, and am weeping and so deeply moved.
    Thank you.

    • February 27, 2014 3:13 pm

      You are so welcome, Anna May. 🙂
      The Holy Spirit must be moving. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

