Skip to content

The 1st Week: One Moment at a Time

July 17, 2014

I can’t believe it’s been over one week already since I’ve posted “It Starts Today.” There was an amazing response from the blogging world and I’m so grateful to each of you for the support, well-wishes and prayers!

At first, I was a little worried that it would take some major adjustment to go back to eating as a nutritarian. I kept reminding myself that I had succeeded at this in 2010 and that I am a different person now than who I was then. This time, I have a darn good reason to live like this:

I finally believe in myself.

I am finally accepting the Lord’s call to “love others as you love yourself.” I can really love others with as much fervor and gusto as possible, but it’s SO hard to love myself. Why is this the case?!

For YEARS I have mixed up the truth about what humility is all about. Humility isn’t putting yourself down or downplaying your strengths and being a doormat so others can walk all over you. It’s knowing your strengths and weaknesses and when to use them. I know who I am, what I am capable of and what I am NOT…and I am okay with that. 🙂

So, I changed what I was eating. My body responded to the changes almost within 48 hours. When the temptation comes to eat something that is processed or not a part of phase 1, I repeat to myself, “Give your body a fighting chance.”  I also started getting active, a minimum of 30 minutes a day. The household just acquired a Wii, so I started using it. I started doing crunches and planking and stretching. At work, I’d started getting up and walking about every hour so I wouldn’t get stuck sitting the whole time.

This isn’t me. Not naturally. I feel like it’s a gift of the Holy Spirit to get out of my comfort zone and do something that isn’t naturally me, but I am finding that the results of being out of my comfort zone are yielding some amazing fruit. I feel good when I get up in the morning. Food is one of those things that really can affect my outlook in life. I am so grateful for the motivation that led me here, in spite of the fact that it’s been painful and humbling. I don’t want to feel that terrible again, so I’m striving to change one moment at a time, not to impress other people, but to prove to my “bad” self wrong. I’m finally listening to the right station.

The last thing I want to end this blog post with is the latest work by an amazing artist. I honestly think she wrote this song for me, but it’s amazing to see how many are touched by the message she’s sending. I’ve learned how to play the song myself, but the video is SO powerful on its own, I’m posting it here. This came at the end of the week when I was just 72 hours into my renewed lifestyle. I can’t seem to keep from being teary eyed at the last line. This is just one example of how the Holy Spirit speaks to me when I need help. He gets to me through music.

Thank you, Colbie, for putting into words what so many folk experience. To my dear sister, M, you are amazing. Thanks for reminding me to “like” myself. I like me, too. 🙂

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 18, 2014 5:24 pm

    Very cool. I like you, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

