Skip to content

A Moment to Breathe and Take a Step Back

August 14, 2014

*breathe*

I have one blessed life. The weekend of family reunions, our parents’ blessed wedding and catching up extended a bit into the week as members spent a little extra time with us here in our end of the world.

I held out with my nutritarian habits until after the reception and found myself having more room to expand my lungs once I changed out of THAT dress. I can’t complain, though, the Lord saw me through and I was able to sing in it as well as the 4″ heels I sported for the Mass.

10533056_10152195465935633_2190282348914810680_n

Me on the left, my beautiful mom in the middle and my stunning sister on the right.

It was so good being with my family for about 5 days of madness preparing for the ceremony and hosting meals at the ‘Rents followed by more reunions centered around food, but it was so worth it. The one regret I had was not taking a nap on Saturday afternoon, because I ended up falling asleep intermittently during my 2nd round of “Guardians of the Galaxy” with my cousins. 😦 Whoops. At least the ones that were awake enjoyed it! 😉

I was able to take my cousins out for a run on the beach on Monday morning. I had not run like that since my high school days, so I took it easy, but found myself happy to be able to move. I’m still nursing a sore right calf from the previous weekend’s beach sprint, but it didn’t stop me from trying on that Monday morning.

 Beach Run with CousinsPre-Run/Walk

I remember feeling pretty good as I hit my stride and caught up with my youngest cousin, who was a BEAST as he ran in both directions. I think they did about 4 miles and I stuck with my lowly 1.5. I was still proud of myself for attempting it and I think I’ll do that again real soon.

It was hard sticking to the nutritarian lifestyle among the plethora of non-green food, so I did my best with what I had and added a little too much of the extra stuff. *sigh* I knew it was bound to happen, but something amazing did occur to me. I didn’t crave the carbohydrates or the dessert offered to me and I could turn them down without batting an eyelash. That’s saying something, isn’t it? The scale told me I gained a few pounds from the weekend, but it’s a minor setback in comparison to the long term goal of reaching a non-diabetic state. So, this week, I cannot report that I lost weight, but I can report that the setback has not broken my stride.

As the weeks continue on, I’m sure I’ll keep blogging on my progress with my health, but I know I’ll be sharing more about the interior end of my life as I get moved to do so. The physical changes I am making are only the reflection of what’s been going on interiorly and so far, this has been one mad ride. Tomorrow is the Feast of the Assumption of the Blessed Mother and a special day for me. If I come to mind, please say a little prayer for me: particularly to stay very close to the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus through the Immaculate Heart of Mary. May you be blessed for your kindness.

Be well, my friends and enjoy today!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

