Skip to content

Hidden in Plain Sight

February 2, 2015

Today is the Church celebrates the Presentation of the Lord, when the Blessed Virgin Mary and St. Joseph presented Jesus in the temple to God. It is also the World Day for Consecrated Life. It has been a long 12 years from my State in Life discernment to this day and I am thirteen days away from making my first year promises of Consecrated Life.

This Vocation is being celebrated by the Catholic Church this year in a special way. Many who wear the habit are celebrating in big ways, sharing a window into their lives in community, their apostolates as well as inviting those who are called to “come and see”. It is an exciting time to answer this particular call. There are also others in the world who answer this call in not so apparent ways, which I like to refer to as “hidden in plain sight”.

My beautiful community, City of the Lord, is a charismatic Catholic covenant community with branches in Tempe, AZ; Monterey Bay, Los Angeles and San Diego, CA. I have been a covenant member for 11 years as of February 15, 2015. We are one of 12 founding Catholic charismatic communities under the Magisterium and have been granted juridical personality in the last few years. It has been a blessing being a part of this beautiful community and they have given me so much by way of formation, support and love ever since I encountered them in 2000. I have learned a lot about myself and have received a ton of healing not only through City of the Lord, but through various Catholic communities here in San Diego, including the Goretti Group, Young Adult ministries throughout the Diocese of San Diego and my close knit of BICs and SICs (Brothers and Sisters in Christ). My family has definitely stepped up in big ways to help me heal and grow into the person I have become these many years, being the foundation of who I am.

My Vocation was revealed last year and I wrote a whole other blog post on it, so I won’t go into massive details in this post. Since that time, I have definitely received a lot of grace to endure the particular hardships that came up, especially from August-December 2014. For those who walked closely with me during those trying weeks, I am incredibly grateful for you and pray for each of you to receive an abundant amount of grace for your kindness to me. I cannot begin to address how thankful I really am.

So, I’m less than two weeks away from making my first year promises which are Simplicity, Chastity and Obedience. Since I have been a part of City of the Lord, I have had a lot of practice in each of these promises, but Simplicity is one that is relatively “new” to me. That takes discernment and discipline to be able to live with “just enough”, but I’m sure I’ll write about that later!

In the meantime, I humbly invite others to join me by heart in praying a Novena via the Blessed Mother as the final days of preparation are upon me. This is the invitation I sent out to my family, friends and community via Facebook, and I would like to extend the invitation to my readers and all who stumble across my blog. A Novena is praying for 9 consecutive days for a single intention (or a group of intentions). Mine is pretty general in regards to which Marian prayer you choose, but the point is to ask our Blessed Mother to pray for not only me, but all those who are called to Consecrated Life. She is an awesome intercessor and has been my constant companion in bringing me closer to Jesus. I cannot imagine making this step without her help, so if you are called to do so, please pray with me. May each of you be blessed many times over for your kindness and generosity of prayer. AMDG!

My dear family, friends and community,

13 days from now I will be making my first year promises of Consecrated Life with City of the Lord in Tempe, AZ. In preparation for this day and the Vocation to live out, I am praying a Novena via the Blessed Mother and would be honored if you could join me in prayer: not only for me but for ALL who are called to this beautiful life hidden in plain sight.

We begin on First Friday, February 6 and end on Saturday, February 14. You may choose any of the following Marian prayers:

one Hail Mary
the Memorare
the Express Novena (the Memorare 9 times in a row)
the Rosary

My small litany of Saints is as follows:

St. Joseph, pray for us.

St. Cecilia, pray for us.

St. Maria Goretti, pray for us.

St. Mary Magdalene, pray for us.

St. Thérèse of Lisieux, pray for us.

St. Gregory the Great, pray for us.

St. John Paul the Great, pray for us.

(add your favorite Saints at your discretion).

If you have any questions on how to pray the Memorare or the Rosary, please let me know. May each of you be blessed for your kindness to me and in celebrating alongside me by heart.

ad maiorem Dei gloriam!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

