Skip to content

a rare Sunday morning

July 2, 2017

It’s a beautiful morning when I get to sleep in past 6 a.m. & even more rare when I am not working on a Sunday. Days like this are a blessing. I get to catch up on home tasks and put a little order into my life.

I’d been living up in Julian for almost eight wonderful days serving at two different camps alongside my friend, Z. It was worth the time away from home to bond with mini-EB and family, as well as accompany some amazing young people as they grew deeper in their relationship with Jesus and each other. Camp Emmaus never ceases to amaze me through the fellowship of other youth ministers and the connection between parishes in our diocese. One of the wonderful moments I got to experience was being a part of a Vocations panel representing the Lay Consecrated Life. Sharing this gift brings a sense of joy I did not expect, especially when I got to receive words of affirmation from our young women who didn’t know this is a viable option and appreciated the truth of the struggle of choosing such a life.

This moment helped me to reflect on how far I’ve come and how ready I am to make this my permanent state of life. Nothing else will satisfy my heart than to be completely, faithfully, totally and fruitfully Jesus’ Little Bride. Just like every Vocation, there will be ups and downs, but the ups are more frequent than the downs. I’ve been experiencing this beautiful time of restoration: friendships, relationships, ministry and mission. It’s amazing to see that just because I’m out of my young adult years, it doesn’t mean I am done growing. As a matter of fact, I feel like I’m sprinting forward. I’m feeling the grace that comes with age and am fondly reminded of my mom’s observation that her forties was the best decade. I was a high school student when that happened and some of the toughest moments came at that time, but for her, she was just beginning to embrace her strength and living on grace raising two teenage daughters. There’s something to be said about the challenges that come into our lives and how they shape us. She could have totally resented that era of time, but she saw it for the gift it was and shares with me it was her best.

I think my thirties were the most challenging mainly because it was a time of major healing that I did not see coming. I don’t resent those years in any way because if I didn’t experience that decade, I would never be ready for the gift I’m living today. Survival is a gift in of itself and I’m so grateful for those who have accompanied me so far. We may not be best friends, we may even be enemies, but I have learned a lot as a result of being connected.

So, as we enter into the height of summer time, I’m embracing the goodness that comes with growing in relationship with others. In youth ministry, summertime is NOT break time…it’s the time to build up the Core Team and work together to serve the greater community. For my interior life, it’s me growing deeper in love with my DL and He’s definitely drawing me closer to His Most Sacred Heart through the Immaculate Heart of Mary and the Saints who constantly intercede for us as well as the prayer life of the Church and the Sacraments. I’m feeling so blessed and am so grateful. Happy Summer!

AMDG!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

